Bible Study Topics | True Repentance | A Biblical Example | The Story of King David (Part two)

Wendy Sue
4 min readApr 8, 2020

--

Bible Study Topics | True Repentance | A Biblical Example | The Story of King David (Part two)

King David’s Lifelong Desire Was to Build a Temple for God

The words King David spoke to the people are recorded in the Bible: “The work is great: for the palace is not for man, but for Jehovah God. Now I have prepared with all my might for the house of my God the gold for things to be made of gold, and the silver for things of silver, and the brass for things of brass, the iron for things of iron, and wood for things of wood; onyx stones, and stones to be set, glistering stones, and of divers colors, and all manner of precious stones, and marble stones in abundance. Moreover, because I have set my affection to the house of my God, I have of my own proper good, of gold and silver, which I have given to the house of my God, over and above all that I have prepared for the holy house” (1 Chronicles 29:1–3). David extolled Jehovah before the people, saying, “Blessed be You, Jehovah God of Israel our Father, for ever and ever” (1 Chronicles 29:10). There is also the psalm written by David, which says: “For the zeal of Your house has eaten me up; and the reproaches of them that reproached You are fallen on me” (Psalm 69:9).

During the Age of Law, God’s work on earth was done to make man come before Him and worship Him. King David was the one who most understood God’s heart and who was most considerate to His will. King David’s lifelong desire was to build a temple for Jehovah, so that the people could come before God and worship Him, and no longer commit sin by worshiping Satan or idols. King David had a heart that both feared and loved God; he was considerate to God’s will, and he was able to treat as urgent that which God treated as urgent and think as God thought. He was also able to pay a real price and was devoted to God. From the Scriptures, we can see that King David put all his heart and strength into preparing everything necessary for the building of the temple, and he offered up all the wealth he had accumulated. Although King David was never able to build this temple during his own lifetime, he exhorted his son Solomon to carry on and achieve his dream that had not been realized while he was alive, and the temple was built at last.

How could God not be delighted in King David, a man who was so considerate to God’s will and who had a place for God in his heart? Take a very sensible child who sees his parents working very hard, for example. In his heart he thinks: “What can I do for my parents to lighten their burden?” With this thought in his head, he begins to do as much as he is capable of doing. And when his parents see that their son is able to show understanding and consideration for them, and that he has taken the initiative to shoulder some of their burden, they will surely feel very gratified. Similarly, God hopes that we can be considerate toward His will, undertake His commissions and dedicate our all for the sake of His work. King David was such a person as this.

Thanks be to God! Through fellowshiping with my brothers and sisters, I found some paths of practice. I silently made a resolution: “I will certainly emulate King David and be someone who fears God, and not intentionally commit any sin or do anything that resists or shames God; when my actions are not after God’s heart, I must pay attention to my own transgressions, truly come before God and repent, and confess my sins to God. I must also focus on seeking the path of repentance and change, and use my living reality to glorify God and bear witness to God. Furthermore, I must have the correct goal to pursue in my faith in God, being that I must rectify my own motives, be considerate to God’s will and spread God’s gospel, so that more people will be brought before God.” Besides this, through seeking and fellowship, I came to understand that God weighs up and assesses a person depending on whether or not their essence is that of a good person, whether or not they truly feel remorse and truly repent whenever they commit a transgression, and whether or not they are someone who can be considerate to God and can love God. We, however, only see people’s external behaviors and expressions, and we do not see their essence. We base our appraisals and judgments of people on our own misconceptions and imaginings, and my own outlook on things had been so preposterous! Whomsoever God takes delight in and whomsoever He detests, God’s will is behind it all. Whenever I encounter this kind of issue again in the future, I shall have a God-fearing heart, I shall seek God’s will more, understand what God requires of us and I shall seek to meet God’s requirements with all my strength!

Source From: Eastern Lightning

Recommended for You:

Christian Video | “Have You Truly Repented?” (English Skit)

--

--

Wendy Sue

May all people cherish God’s word and come seeking to know God. May those preordained by God return into His presence.